Skyline Installation

Purge Utility

Purge Utility

Previous topic Next topic  

Purge Utility

Previous topic Next topic JavaScript is required for the print function  

We would suggest that the utility is used to purge documents and orders that are older than 90 days. Skyline has been designed as a system for ordering documents and should not be used as a document storage area. If the purge utility is not run then the databases can become overloaded or full causing the software to slow down or completely fail.

InfoReports should be run before starting the purge utility and the results exported to CSV. Data which is older than the specified purge timescale is not available to be reported on.

If you are using the hosted system the purge utility is automatically run to remove any documents and orders older than 90 days.

When the purge utility is run the following will happen:-

When a document is uploaded into a user's library the date that the document was uploaded is recorded. When the purge utility is run any documents older than the specified purge timescale will be removed. If a document has been re-ordered within the purge timescale then it will not be deleted.
 
DateUploaded
Documents in shared libraries are not affected by the purge, regardless of their upload date.
The orders tab lists all the orders that have been placed by the user. Any orders that are older than the specified purge timescale will be removed from the list, irrespective of their status. This means that reports will not contain details of any orders that are older than the specified purge timescale.
In PrintStation all jobs that are older than the specified number of days and have the status "Completed" will be changed to the status Archived. If your PrintStation has been configured to show completed jobs the orders older than the specified number of days will no longer be shown. Completed orders older than the specified number of days will also disappear from the orders tab of the user.
Icon-ExplanationA certain understanding of network servers and basic command line usage is required to run the utility.

To run the purge utility:

1.log in to the Skyline server and locate your Skyline website.
2.Open Explorer and locate the file SkylinePurge.exe. By default it will be in the directory c:\Skyline.
3.At the command prompt type C:\Skyline\SkylinePurge "c:\skyline\wwwroot" 90 -all.
 
Where:

C:\Skyline\

is the folder location of the SkylinePurge.exe file

SkylinePurge

the name of the exe file.

"c:\skyline\wwwroot"

is the location of your Skyline website

90

data older than the number of days specified will be purged.

-all

delete old records and documents, remove deleted orders, set completed orders to archive status, delete all old preview images, delete orphaned documents and clean the database.

       PurgeString
Other switches that can be used instead of -all are:

-orders

only delete orders older than the specified number of days.

-documents

only delete documents older than the specified number of days.

-deleted

remove all orders that have the status "deleted"

-completed

for all orders older than the specified number of days change orders with the status "Completed" to "Archived"

-thumbnails

delete all thumbnail images for documents that have been previewed

-orphaned

delete all orphaned documents that are no longer in the database

-clean

clean the databases of all orphaned records.

InfoPlease refer to the section Skyline Update Utility for details on how to run the update procedure if you receive the message "The database needs to be upgraded before running the Skyline Purge utility. Please run the Skyline Update utility first".